I must clarify though, when I say i've had a bad day.. i really haven't had a bad day, it's just not as glorious and exciting as the days i've been having up to that day. On a side note, the status of everything changes according to what you compare it to. Compared to most of the world's population... I never have had a truly 'bad day' and I realize this full well. So I want to put that in perspective up front. Back to topic:
I had an errands list as usual and most of it went well until I stopped by a Honda dealership to get my oil changed. I never have done this before as I always have had a family acquaintance who has an auto business do my car's oil. However, this dealership was a bit cheaper. Ten dollars cheaper to be exact. Charmed, I pull in like a good penny pinching dutch girl.
I get in line and an auto guy informs me that it will be an hour. I come back in an hour and i'm called in to examine the underside of my green Honda up on the stilts. "See that fluid? Thats a Tranny leak. The main seal is leaking majorly." "Nice." I reply thinking to how i just had my tranny fluid replaced by our auto acquaintance. "Get that checked out asap." Apparently this is a big deal. Back to the waiting room.
Here he comes again. Out I go to examine the car again.
One of the many mechanics comes over and holds out something. He says,"See this screw?" "Yep." "It's stripped. The last guy tightened it too tight and when we got it out the threads came with it and now it won't go back in. It'll be $100 to get it temporarily fixed." Lovely. "Are you sure you guys didn't do that?" (I know, i'm blunt.) But alas, he was convinced that it was the last guy who changed my oil's fault and I pay the money. I just got this car so i have no idea about the knowledge of the last oil changing person.
(This all is going somewhere, i promise)
So now I call the Auto Acquaintance. (A little history: i've been going to this guy for years and I have always been completely satisfied with him.) He says to come in immediately for him to check it. He hoists up the car to see the tranny and calls me out to look at the internals of my car. (i'm learning a lot today about car guts today) Long story short, he informs me that the dealership people were incorrect. "The main seal was not leaking.. it was a different spot and a slight leak, not a major one. Also they had put too much oil in for that particular engine. Also, they probably wrenched the screw off a little harder than was appropriate for a car of that age." The guys at the dealership are usually a bit inexperienced the Auto Acquaintance informs me. He's nicer than I am. I just keep thinking "JERKS." I was in a bad mood. But it's true, they were probably just not very experienced.
~*~
ANYways, i got to thinking. I've been on a pursuit of knowledge as far as researching what I believe about christianity. More specifically, I am passionate about learning about the differences that arose and split many christian denominations.
I wonder, am I like those first inexperienced mechanic? Making assumptions based on little knowledge? Perhaps I'm making a bigger deal out of what is minor. Perhaps what I perceive... is not the truth at all or is a only a stepping stone to what is the truth.
Ultimately, I want to grow closer to God. I love the church; the people of God who share this love! I do know this, that God promises that if you seek you will find. Knock and the door will be opened! Perhaps there are some answers we were not meant to know. But I believe, that keeping in an open mind and a true relationship with God... letting His life giving love flow through you, like a father caring for his curious children... He will reveal the answers to what we desire to know. :D
Onward!
Amen! And thank you for sharing darling sister. <3
ReplyDeleteI told myself that I w a s NOT going to get online tonight as I need sleep.
God whispered in my ear. THIS is what I needed. :)